Raleigh Metro SHRM is pleased to recognize our members that have proven to be outstanding leaders in the HR profession and local community. Please check out the list of awards for RMSHRM, NCSHRM and National SHRM and nominate any deserving member for recognition!

Robert F. McLain HR Professional of Year

The Robert F. McLain award recognizes an association member for his/her outstanding service to the chapter, to the human resources profession and to the community. The award is given in honor of Past President Robert F. McLain, who passed away approximately two months into his term as president. This is the highest achievement and honor presented to a RMSHRM member by the chapter and is awarded annually to one member.

2021 Nominations for the Robert F. McLain HR Professional of the Year are due by November 26, 2021. Questions about the award can be directed to the current President-Elect, Kimberly Rogov.

NCSHRM State Council Awards & Scholarships

Richard “Dick” People’s Professional of the Year Award

The NCSHRM State Council recognizes one active, NC Chapter Human Resources Professional annually at the NCSHRM State Conference as the Professional of the Year. This award is given in recognition of this individual’s service to the HR community (State Council, SHRM Chapters, etc.), service to the HR profession, leadership in the business community and service to the civic community within the past calendar year. To apply for this award, click here.


North Carolina Human Resources Professional Hall of Fame

Sponsored by Constangy, Brooks & Smith, LLP

The NCSHRM State Council recognizes North Carolina Human Resources Professionals for their outstanding lifetime accomplishments and/or contributions. This award is given in recognition of their service to the HR profession, leadership in the business community and service to the civic community. To submit an entry for the Hall of Fame award, click here.


Elizabeth Clay Smith Humanitarian Award

Sponsored by Hill, Chesson & Woody

The Elizabeth “Clay” Smith Humanitarian Award honors a human resources professional who promotes well-being, respect and dignity within their community, while striving to make a lasting difference and to encourage others to do the same. In so doing, this professional exemplifies compassion, courage and professionalism in the practice of human resources as well as in their personal lives. To submit a name, click here.


Distinguished Student Chapter(s) of the Year Award

NCSHRM State Council supports SHRM goals and objectives for Student Chapters and Student Chapter Members. SHRM outlines a plan of action for success through the annual Merit Award program that recognizes student chapters for outstanding activities and programs. To further support and recognize those student chapters that meet the Merit Award criteria outlined by the Society, the State Council recognizes those Distinguished Student Chapters annually.

Distinguished North Carolina Student Chapter(s) that receive Merit Award status from SHRM will receive $150 to be used for student chapter purposes. Distinguished chapters will also be recognized at the NCSHRM State Conference. Contact our College Relations Director, Laura Moushey, for more information.

National SHRM Awards

Michael R. Losey Excellence in HR Research Award

A single award of $50,000 is presented annually to further the field of human resource management. Nominations are encouraged for scholars with a significant body of work in the field of HR. For more information about the nomination process, please click here. check back to apply for the 2021 award!


SHRM Advisor of the Year

The SHRM Foundation Advisor of the Year Award recognizes the outstanding service and leadership provided to student chapters by SHRM advisors. The winning advisor will receive a commemorative plaque, $1,000 cash award, complimentary registration to the SHRM Annual Conference & Expo and travel funding up to $1,000 to attend the SHRM Annual Conference. For more details and to access the online nomination system, click here. check back to apply for the 2021 award!